Search This Blog

Loading...
Showing posts with label golf club. Show all posts
Showing posts with label golf club. Show all posts

Thursday, August 2, 2012

Medical Practitioners - Dr. Joel Baxter


BAXTER, Dr Ernest Joel (c1902–50) & Sylvia: Dr Baxter was one of Springwood’s most admired and respected medical practitioners. Both physician and surgeon, he trained in a number of Sydney hospitals.

      
He was born in Western Australia and was the son of Mr and Mrs John Baxter. In December 1929, following his marriage in August to Sylvia Watson (the daughter of Mr and Mrs J. A. Watson), he purchased the practice of Dr Milne in Springwood and remained here for the rest of his life. There were no children of the marriage.

      
His initiation into the Springwood practice was not an easy one. On the evening of 27 January 1930 a crowded excursion train ran off the rails and over an embankment at Warrimoo. Dr Baxter was one of the first to arrive at the accident site and found both the driver and the fireman dead and a 16-year-old Blaxland porter, who had been riding in the engine, trapped under the wreckage. Assisted by another doctor, Dr Baxter crawled under the engine and, in a two-hour operation carried out in heavy rain and using the light from car headlamps, amputated the boy’s hand to free him.

      
A cheerful and sociable man with a keen sense of humour, he involved himself in numerous town activities. He served a period as president of the Golf Club and as a member of the Christ Church Parish Council, was a life member of the School of Arts, a member of the Masonic Lodge and was actively associated with the Springwood Development League. He was a keen golfer and tennis player and a champion at billiards. ‘His handling of the cue’, noted one admirer, ‘like everything about him, was neatness personified.’ He was also a member of the honorary medical staff at the Nepean District Hospital.

      
Dr Baxter carried on working almost to the end of his life, assisted and supported by his equally popular wife, Sylvia. He died on 12 April 1950 in the Mater Misericordia Hospital in Sydney and was cremated at the Woronora Crematorium. A memorial service was held at Christ Church, Springwood, on 30 April and a committee was later established to raise money for a public memorial. The Dr Baxter Memorial Gates, designed by Wynn Davies, were erected at Buckland Park in front of the Springwood war memorial as a lasting tribute to one of Springwood’s most respected citizens.


Baxter Memorial Gates
John Low


Saturday, March 19, 2011

Early Residents: John Thomas Ellison

John Thomas Ellison war born at Parramatta 15th July 1841.  His grandfather, also John, was transported to Australia in 1791 on the Albermarle and became the publican of the 'Bird In Hand' (1817) and the 'Jolly Sailor' in Parramatta. His son Thomas continued in the trade and owned the 'Native Lass' on Lapstone Hill and the 'Toll Bar' Inn at Linden. He married Elizabeth Huff in 1840 at St John's Church Parramatta and John Thomas was their first child.

John lived with his parents at Toll Bar Inn was demolished for railway purposes in 1863, they moved to the 'Arms of Australia' in Emu (present day Emu Plains) and the 'Union Inn' Penrith. He married Hannah Lees, daughter of Cornelius and Henrietta Lees of Springwood in 1871. They had ten children: Beckie, Albert, Thomas, Lizzie, Ivy, Leslie, Lilly, Cecil, Sarah and Hannah, Henrietta.

After marriage John purchased land and established an orchard on Hawkesbury Road Springwood, which is the site of the present day Springwood Golf Club.  It is believed that a pear tree still growing near the professionals' shop was planted in the time of Ellison.

John & Hannah Ellison

The farmhouse was situated approximately where the present clubhouse now stands and was reputed to have been constructed of stone salvaged from the Toll Bar Inn Linden. He established a sizeable orchard, growing oranges and summer fruits. When the nearby Lawson estate was advertised for sale in 1890 it was said to be close to desirable properties including Mr. J.T. Ellison's famous orangery and stone fruit orchard.

* This article is part of a larger article taken from The Making of a Mountain Community: a Biographical Dictionary of the Springwood District