William Deemer is thought to have been the same William Deemer who applied for the license of the Springwood Hotel (later re-built and renamed the Oriental Hotel by James Hunter Lawson) in June 1885. An objection was made to the court regarding his application for the license because he had a charge of intoxication against him. However, the court was lenient and the license was granted. William is thought to have married Adelaide C. Smith in 1861 and several children had been born prior to their move to Springwood. William is thought to have retained the license until approximately 1888 when the Adams family took over the running of the hotel.
W.T. Dickson was the licensee of the Royal Hotel in 1884. It would seem he brought a good deal of experience in the hotel industry when he came to Springwood because he was late of the York Hotel situated in York Street, Sydney. His stay was short because 1885-6 the license was in the name of Mary Ann Brown.
|Royal Hotel Great Western Road (now Macquarie Road)|